Starter Issue?

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Lanval
IAC Addict!

Starter Issue?

Post by Lanval » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:04 am

I replaced the starter a month ago or so. Last week, I noticed the engine was turning over slow on occasion, but then it would start fine the next time.

Last Sunday I took the van to go to my brothers ~ started fine... got to the coffee spot and it wouldn't start.

Engine turns over, but in a couple of instances, just a lights and click. Smells plenty of gas, I can hear the pump run. So I'm wondering if there is a way to verify if the starter is the issue?

Best,

Mike

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Re: Starter Issue?

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:26 am

You must have not heard of the hot start relay....do a search.
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

vdubyah73
IAC Addict!

Post by vdubyah73 » Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:00 am