1.9 wasserboxer wont start

Find/Fix/Report Back

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

energyturtle
Getting Hooked!

1.9 wasserboxer wont start

Post by energyturtle » Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:18 pm

Hello Community. This is not an aircooled question, but a hopeful diagnosis of a 1.9 wasserboxer in a 1987 vanagon GL. I am trying to get this thing back on the road for a friend. I have never worked on a water cooled vanagon before, but when I raised the engine compartment lid I was pleasantly surprised at how similar the engine is to Energyturtles 2.0. I was very confident at fixing the no start issue, so I went to work.....ignition and timing good, fuel good, air good. Turned the key crank, crank, crank WTF? So I poured some gas down the s-boot hit the key vroom. The motor sounded great. After it used the gas I poured in it died immediately. As I stated, the fuel is getting all the way to the injector rail and has good pressure. I pulled the plug at each injector and tested with the multimeter and they are getting the signal to spray. I pulled the injectors and they were filthy. I sprayed them with carb cleaner, reinstalled and nothing. I then pulled the injectors again and had the owner crank while I was looking for spray. No spray. I am at a loss so any help is greatly appreciated. She has no Bentley and I do not know how the components of the F.I. works versus the 1978 that I am very confident in working with. Please help a scrambled brain :shaking: :angryfire:
Scottie

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Re: 1.9 wasserboxer wont start

Post by Amskeptic » Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:03 pm

energyturtle wrote: I pulled the plug at each injector and tested with the multimeter and they are getting the signal to spray.
crank No spray.
Scottie
You know that the injectors are supplied with 12 volts any time the ignition is on.