Clogged type 1 heat risers

Find/Fix/Report Back

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

ruckman101
Lord God King Bwana

Clogged type 1 heat risers

Post by ruckman101 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:58 pm

I've heard a ragged ended chunk of clutch cable and a drill works well, and I've heard of torching the thing to burn out the carbon. Anyone have any luck with either or other methods? Is there a "best" method beyond what works?

thanks,
neal
The slipper has no teeth.

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Re: Clogged type 1 heat risers

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Sat Sep 17, 2011 6:12 pm

I had no luck with any other method but repeated tapping of the tube on a hard surface, and tapping the tube with a hammer carefully. The repeated tapping breaks up the carbon and it comes out in pieces. It's not fast but it does work.
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Post by Amskeptic » Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:05 pm

ruckman101 wrote:I've heard a ragged ended chunk of clutch cable and a drill works well, and I've heard of torching the thing to burn out the carbon. Anyone have any luck with either or other methods? Is there a "best" method beyond what works?

thanks,
neal
RSorak71Westy's method is probably the easiest on the pipe, think: vibration, rather than smashing the pipe all bonkers. The TBRRupturedDuck has a clogged riser that must be cleared before I bolt up the new muffler before I drive the poor thing ragged, so if you do find a clutch cable drill deal or heat, let me know .... :compress:
Colin
BobD - 78 Bus . . . 112,730 miles
Chloe - 70 bus . . . 217,593 miles
Naranja - 77 Westy . . . 142,970 miles
Pluck - 1973 Squareback . . . . . . 55,600 miles
Alexus - 91 Lexus LS400 . . . 96,675 miles

Gypsie
rusty aircooled mekanich

Post by Gypsie » Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:46 pm