Bench Testing my Engine

Bus, Microbus, Transporter, Station Wagon, Vanagon, Camper, Pick-Up.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Adventurewagen
IAC Addict!

Bench Testing my Engine

Post by Adventurewagen » Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:28 am

I've never done this, but would like to bench test my engine before I slap it back in the bus. Check for exhaust leaks, tune up the carbs and basically just check everything else out while I have easy access.

I've pulled the engine WITH the tranny so can I still do it with the tranny on? Since the started is attached I'd kinda figure it would be more of a requirement to run it with the tranny, but again I've never done it before.

Also, what all do I need to hook up and what do I need to be careful of or watch out for. I figure if I ground the battery to my lift and run the positive to the starter, use a can of fuel and gravity feed the pump thats about it, right? Should I connect the alternator back to the battery or just leave it unattached?

What about the vacuum for the brake booster? Just plug it?

I'm running a Type 1, 1776 with dual 40 IDF webers, new CSP linkage, new 95 Amp alternator, BMD pulley but still a 009 which will soon become an ACN SVDA when I get the cash. So lotsa new stuff on the bus.
63 Gulf Blue Notch
71 Sierra Yellow Adventurewagen
DjEep wrote:Velo? Are you being "over-run"? Do you need to swim through a sea of Mexican anchor-babies to get to your bus in the morning?
:wav:

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Re: Bench Testing my Engine

Post by Amskeptic » Fri Aug 11, 2006 4:43 pm

Adventurewagen wrote:I would like to bench test my engine before I slap it back in the bus. Check for exhaust leaks, tune up the carbs and basically just check everything else out while I have easy access.

I've pulled the engine WITH the tranny so can I still do it with the tranny on? Since the started is attached I'd kinda figure it would be more of a requirement to run it with the tranny, but again I've never done it before.