Neophyte on board

Bus, Microbus, Transporter, Station Wagon, Vanagon, Camper, Pick-Up.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Mikehoe70
I'm New!

Neophyte on board

Post by Mikehoe70 » Sat Sep 28, 2019 9:45 am

Hello all. I am a newbie and have a project to work on. I acquired a ‘73 Bay window with some mods, some parts just missing, but somewhat functional. Is there a good Resource to follow figuring out where to begin. Also, I am new to automotive projects. I have basic skills and tools. Where to go when roadblocks occur?

I did post this in the Samba as well, but the tenor of discussion on this forum is more my speed!

TIA

satchmo
Old School!

Re: Neophyte on board

Post by satchmo » Sat Sep 28, 2019 12:50 pm

First, welcome to the IAC.

Second, describe the current state of your bus. Is it an automatic or manual transmission? What 'mods' are done that would affect operation and drive ability? What parts are missing? Posting pictures is helpful to obtain the advice you desire.

Third, start reading everything you can about Bay Window buses from model years 72-74. These came with a Type 4 engine that had dual carburetors in their stock configuration. Many have been converted to a center mount carb or have suffered similar atrocities.

Fourth, stop worrying. You will have many questions and roadblocks as you dive into this project and we can't really guide you without knowing more about the starting point of your bus. So once you've educated yourself a bit, and documented your starting point, come back and ask away. There is no such thing as a dumb question.

Satchmo
By three methods we may learn wisdom:
First, by reflection, which is noblest;
second, by immitation, which is easiest;
and third, by experience, which is bitterest. -Confucius

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Post by Amskeptic » Sat Sep 28, 2019 2:04 pm

satchmo wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 12:50 pm
First, welcome to the IAC.