Colin comes to Maine! And helps me...adjust.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

brotha bran
I'm New!

Colin comes to Maine! And helps me...adjust.

Post by brotha bran » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:36 pm

First things first, I must apologize for having taken a total of zero photos during the nine hours Colin spent here on Monday. As a someone who is partially a photographer by trade, I am deeply ashamed, but I'm sure anyone who has been party to a stop on the Itinerary knows full well that "Oh, I should take a photo of this", is probably the last thought running through your head. I apologize, but ever the Chicago Cubs fan that I am, I am fully seasoned in the phrase "well, there's always next year." I'll also apologize for my tendency to ramble. I realize I may lose a good portion of you after the 37th paragraph...

Now, I cannot explain how humbled I am after Colin's visit. This was my first visit from him, but it certainly won't be my last. I'll be anxiously awaiting next summer. The amount of knowledge that just got dropped on my brain is immense and I am still taking it all in and beginning to connect dots a little more clearly. Lets begin from the beginning, a great place to start I'd say.

I've owned an ACVW since 2004 when I purchased a 1976 Transporter that I knew very little about. I drove it during the summers only, and barely put any miles on it, and subsequently paid little attention to the rust that was eating away at it, and the mechanical issues that were developing. I changed the oil, but as far as tune-ups or anything else went, she was essentially neglected :silent:. In 2009 I began tearing into it and I'm half-way through a full-blown restoration. But that '76 is a long, long story for another day, with many twists, turns, and a whole lot of embarrassment thrown in for good measure.