1978 Bus 2.0 FI jerking

Carbs & F.I.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

khargis
Getting Hooked!

1978 Bus 2.0 FI jerking

Post by khargis » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:05 pm

hello, this is kris. My bus is pausing and jerking often when i am driving it. Could this be an AFM issue or timing issue? I am just learning, but would appreciate any feedback and would like to address this myself. Thanks folks, kris
'slow n' steady'

satchmo
Old School!

Re: 1978 vw bus 2.0 fuel injected

Post by satchmo » Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:48 pm

khargis wrote:hello, this is kris. My bus is pausing and jerking often when i am driving it. Could this be an AFM issue or timing issue? I am just learning, but would appreciate any feedback and would like to address this myself. Thanks folks, kris
Jerking while driving is unlikely to be due to timing. I would start your search elsewhere.

More information is needed in order to give you the best advice. Tell us when you notice the jerking and pausing. Just on acceleration, at cruise, or decelerating? Is it more of a bogging sensation, then taking off, or does it just cut out for a moment, then back to normal? Or is it herky jerky the whole time? Does it happen when the engine is warm, cold, or both? What helps and what makes it worse? Does the engine run okay when you are checking it in the driveway, or does it manifest these symptoms even when you are in neutral and you manipulate the throttle sitting still?

From my recent troubles with jerking (see viewtopic.php?f=42&t=11172), I have learned that you need to check every connection related to the double relay (multi-wire connector on left firewall), the connector on the AFM, and the connector to the Temp Sensor 2. You should also check the points, and the function of the Temp Sensor 2 (easiest to just replace it maybe). There are also fuel delivery issues that could cause symptoms like this. Tell us when you last changed the fuel filter or if the fuel tank might be in questionable condition.