A few very basic questions about paint/minor body work

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

thesamwise4
Getting Hooked!

A few very basic questions about paint/minor body work

Post by thesamwise4 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:01 am

Hello,

My bus is, for the most part, in good shape. There are a few places that I would like to touch up, as in:

and

and finally

The problem is that I have no experience doing this kind of work and find it a little intimidating. I read Colin's very helpful sticky, titled Bodywork on the Fly, and that made me think that, if I just went slowly and followed instructions carefully, I could tackle some of these smaller problems. I am not interested in having a show bus, I just want to protect what I have from rust and have it look nice (not perfect--just nice).

But I keep hitting basic stumbling blocks, so I figured I would ask you all for a little help. Here are my questions:

1.Other than sandpapers of varying grit (as explained by Colin in the sticky), I am under the impression that I may need:

a. primer
b. paint
c. brushes

Based on the pics above, does it look like I will need filler? If so, what kind should I use?

2. Is there a specific kind of primer that is recommended for these kinds of applications?

3. How do I go about getting the right paint? Should I order the paint from a place like this: http://www.apstowerpaint.com/index.php ?

Or should I go to a body shop?

4. Do I want to get spray can or paint that is applied with a brush?

Either way, can I just order the color code for the bus (L63H)?

I know that these are total newbie questions, but I've never dealt with this before, so I really appreciate your patience/insight. I feel like I'm paralyzed by all of the options.

Thanks.
-Dave

1977 Westy Deluxe--The Green Lantern

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Re: A few very basic questions about paint/minor body work

Post by Amskeptic » Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:57 am