74 Super Beetle charge light on but its charging

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

74 Super Beetle charge light on but its charging

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:22 pm

Motorola alternator w external regulator. The system appears to be charging fine i.e. running car shows 13.8 volts at b+ terminal and at battery positive. The problem is the charge light in the dash is on very bright. What should I be looking for?

The light would come on brightly with the ignition, then goes dimmer after the engine starts. The diff in voltage between b+ and D+ is about 1.8 volts with the engine running. This is the voltage that appears to be lighting the bulb. Where should I look to for the bad connection?
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Re: 74 Super beetle charge light on but its charging

Post by Amskeptic » Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:02 pm

RSorak 71Westy wrote:Motorola alternator w external regulator. The system appears to be charging fine i.e. running car shows 13.8 volts at b+ terminal and at battery positive. The problem is the charge light in the dash is on very bright. What should I be looking for?

The light would come on brightly with the ignition, then goes dimmer after the engine starts. The diff in voltage between b+ and D+ is about 1.8 volts with the engine running. This is the voltage that appears to be lighting the bulb. Where should I look to for the bad connection?
Go back to the battery positive with engine off. Read voltage. Start engine. Read voltage.

Go to center wire of alt idiot light (blue). Pull it cleanly off terminal, small spade, careful. Idiot light will go out.
Read voltage on wire against any good ground.
Shut off engine.
Read voltage off that same wire. Should be "0" volts.
NOW: