Flasher/Electrical Troubles

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

cek347
I'm New!

Flasher/Electrical Troubles

Post by cek347 » Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:51 am

So, this past winter I got back into my bug project, got it running for the first time in years, did some other maintenance and was primed to get it on the road this summer. I then started in on getting the lights working and my will ground to a halt. I put the fenders back on and hooked up all the lights/turn signals/front/back. Before going any further, I am a novice so I am just going with what I think is common sense, maybe not automotive common sense.

First notch on head light switch: turn signal/marker lights are good and tail lights are good (though right side is dim)

Second notch on turn signal switch: Headlights and tail lights work (though passenger side rear a little dimmer)

Emergency flashers: all flash, same speed

Turn signal driver: front and back good

Turn signal passenger: flash quickly both front and rear

First step: I replaced all the bulbs with new Result: Same
Second step: Replaced passenger turn signal holder with used holder Result: Same
Third step: Replaced all fuses with new Result Same
Fourth step: Replaced 3 prong turn signal flasher with NAPA brand Result: Turn signals (both left and ride side) flash fast

Fifth step: Put old 3 prong back in, switched light housings (both front and rear) from driver side to pass. and pass. over to driver
Result:
4-ways- all flash same speed, passenger side dim
Parking light position- Passenger front bright-Driver front dim, rears look even
Headlight position- Passenger front signal bright-Driver front signal dim, rears look even
Turn signal Driver side- normal
Turn signal Passenger side- fast

Here is the pic of the flasher setup, right is for 4-ways, left is for turn signals

Where do I go from here?
15 Jetta Tdi 23k
01 Golf Tdi 267k RIP 2/4/15
WTB: Bay West or Vanagon Westy

dtrumbo
IAC Addict!

Re: Flasher/Electrical Troubles