Wiring Madness AKA "take it in the shorts" 1972 type3

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

hambone
Post-Industrial Non-Secular Mennonite

Wiring Madness AKA "take it in the shorts" 1972 type3

Post by hambone » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:11 pm

I have various electrical issues I now need to address on the eternal 1972 Squareback.
There is a short, one of the fuses melts (intermittently) upon starting the key. Wiper motor is affected.
I also do not have turn signals, instrument lights, or high beams. The headlights work, but the instrument light (green, for headlamps) will only illuminate when the running lights are on, as soon as the headlights are turned on the instrument light goes off. Someone has also rigged in the incorrect flasher relay and I need to return it back to stock.

I am studying the wiring diagram like a madman, tracing lines. I know that current flows only one way, but how can you tell the direction of the flow from the diagram? For example, wires going into the fuse box - which way do they pass thru the fuses (up/down or down/up)?

How the HELL do you trace wires (like the flasher switch) that are damn near impossible to see, due to the dashboard or clusters of other wires? While you are upside down, using a trouble light?

Finally, what is the easiest process for determining a short? Is it a matter of painstakingly tracing each individual wire to it's source, or should a meter be used?
I'd imagine the battery must be disconnected for this sort of work.

Thank you, I am in up to my ears in this stuff. For some reason, electrical and Algebra make my brain shut off.
http://greencascadia.blogspot.com
http://pdxvolksfolks.blogspot.com
it balances on your head just like a mattress balances on a bottle of wine
your brand new leopard skin pillbox hat

dtrumbo
IAC Addict!

Re: Wiring Madness AKA "take it in the shorts" 1972 type3

Post by dtrumbo » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:33 am

hambone wrote:There is a short, one of the fuses melts (intermittently) upon starting the key.