Fancy Pants' Oil Leak - lots of detail

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

fancy pants
Old School!

Fancy Pants' Oil Leak - lots of detail

Post by fancy pants » Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:21 pm

I am not trying to compete with Hambone's oil leak, but since we are on the subject...

I have been chasing this one for ~ 6 months and have done the following by myself or through a shop:

1. Front seal replaced - the one behind the fan (self)
2. Breather box sealed (Trafton)
3. Dipstick boot replaced (Trafton)
4. Oil cooler replaced (Trafton)
5. Push rod tubes sealed (Trafton), redone by Colin and I

I have gone through 3/4 quart in the last 70 miles. When I park I get a pool up to a foot in diameter from underneath the fan housing, several pools under the R heater box, and a pool under the L heater box. Case pressure seems minimal. There is negative pressure at the oil fill tube at idle, and what I would consider a small amt of positive pressure at higher rpm. 2 shops have stated that case pressure does not seem to be excessive, but that there is some.

Yesterday (saturday) I followed Colin's instructions and permatexed the right cylinder head washers/nuts (question - should there be "play" in the bolts?). Prior to this, I spent 4+ hours cleaning (and cleaning and cleaning). For as much time as Colin and I spent cleaning oil 70 miles ago, the amount of oil present was a bit unsettling.

I will use rear to mean rear of bus.