stripped spark plug sockets 1979 transporter 2.0L carburated

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

aletheus
I'm New!

stripped spark plug sockets 1979 transporter 2.0L carburated

Post by aletheus » Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:12 pm

I feel horrible for doing this to my VW van. but I wasn't aware that I needed to use anti-seize compound, nor change spark plugs every other oil change, nor that the euro auto store sold me plugs that were too long.

I am an artist that works part time at starbucks, and I bought the bus as part of a lifetime dream to take it camping and landscape painting across the southwest, so I really don't want to give it up.

QUESTION:

Do I absolutely have to remove the motor? can the heat shield be removed from within? if so, how do I ensure aluminum shavings don't fall into the piston chambers? its 2 and 4, so I'd have to remove both cylinder heads if that's the best way. Mainly, I don't want to ruin the van just from shavings falling down into the piston chambers. I have inserts (NOT helicoils), and the tap from bus-boys.com they were very nice and made sure I was getting the right thing.

thanks in advance!!

Cecil
the invisible self becomes the invisible god through the visible universe

vwlover77
IAC Addict!

Post by vwlover77 » Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:22 am

Hi Cecil, and welcome. What a great dream you're putting into action!

By far, the safest thing to do would be to remove the engine and pull off the heads. This would give you an opportunity to check valve and head health if this Bus is new to you.

The heads can also be removed with the engine in place, but I'm not familiar with exactly what needs to be done. Some say for the small extra effort, just pull the engine.

I have done threaded inserts on a Beetle with the engine in, but not a Bus. But, if you don't want to pull the heads, you should be able to go through the tin with the tap. If you go this route....

1. Make sure the piston is at the bottom of its stroke before starting in with the tap.