1978 Bus - Oil change - Grey slurry and some metal debris

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

greg73
I'm New!

1978 Bus - Oil change - Grey slurry and some metal debris

Post by greg73 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:24 am

Allright, as you will see I am quite new to this. I searched through the forum here as well as Thesamba and a German one but did not find a conclusive answer. I am concerned, however.
I did an oil change this weekend and found grey / silver slurry and small metal debris on the bottom of my taco plate. Nothing too big and the oil strainer was quite clean. It all seemed to be Aluminum. My fuel injected engine runs quite nicely without any concerning sounds (at least to me). It starts right up every time and never gave me trouble. Based on what I read it looks as if the motor might have a serious issue. Or not. I am trying to find out how serious it might be and whether to wait and see or to call an ambulance.
I own the bus for a year now and don't know too much about it's history but do not think the engine was ever rebuilt since I have a number of service documents which do show anything done on the motor. It has probably 150,000 miles on it, I drove 4000 so far.

Thanks
Gregor

sgkent
Addicted!

Re: 1978 Bus - Oil change - Grey slurry and some metal debris

Post by sgkent » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:32 pm