My confession after mis-hap...

Contribute, Battle-Scarred Repair Warriors!

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

wcfvw69
Old School!

My confession after mis-hap...

Post by wcfvw69 » Sun Dec 06, 2015 6:43 pm

Ok, so I've read on some threads here and on The Samba about folks "gluing" or using a shellac or other gasket sealer on their valve cover gaskets. My confession? Well, in reading those comments or threads about the need to do this, I would roll my eyes or snicker at the absurdity of doing that. Hell, I've been working on these old VW's as a hobby for 30+ years and have NEVER, EVER done anything other than insure the valve cover was clean and insert a new cork/rubber gasket and snap the bale over the cover while insuring the bale applied the appropriate tension.

Why am I suddenly falling on the sword? Well.. I took my restored, bone stock 67 bug with my GF to our friends house for a football party today. The drive was about 55 miles one way. The bug purred and ran perfectly as I cruised across Phoenix on a beautiful day. We arrived w/no problem. A buddy went outside to get something from his car. He came back in and said "uh Bill, you got quite an oil puddle under your bug and a drip stream up my driveway". I of course scoffed at such a suggestion that MY bug leaked oil. When he didn't say he was joking, I got up off the couch, set my ice cold beer down and went outside, incredulous at his implication of "a significant leak or any leak for that matter"..

Um yea, there was a fair amount of hot oil leaking out of the drivers side valve cover. I stared at it in dis-belief. He had some cat litter which I applied up his drive way and under the bug. I popped the valve cover off and YUP, the gasket had distorted along the bottom and curled up towards the top in a big U.. The damn thing appeared to have "shrunk" up in overall size too. This gasket was purchased from Wolfsburg West and wasn't more than a year old..