82 Vanagon Transaxle Ship From San Jose CA?

Bus, Microbus, Transporter, Station Wagon, Vanagon, Camper, Pick-Up.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

weisswurst
Addicted!

82 Vanagon Transaxle Ship From San Jose CA?

Post by weisswurst » Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:51 am

Hello all Forum members, I am a newbie and the proud owner of 2 diesel vanagons, one that is heavily modified and a bit of a "frankenstein" and another one that is BONE stock and a totally original engine as well as inside and out. I just had my first visit from Colin this past weekend and when we dug in we got so busy that I even got to have him for an extra half day too. ( I promise the post of the visit with pics is coming!!) :cyclopsani:
I learned so much and we accomplished alot as well.

Colin suggested that I reach out to the forum people :study: for some help with a situation. We did transaxle flushes for both vanagons and we found something that even Colin has never seen before, ( I will let him make the post of what we found and won't steal the thunder from the pics he took). Let's just say I could really use a replacement donor transaxle.
I have located a original transmission near San Jose and it is from an 82 diesel as well!
The seller pulled it out of his to put in a "taller gear" version he claimed. He also said it was shifting fine when he pulled it. It is without the bell housing so it's not very big either.
It is sitting upright in a standard size milk crate in his garage, measurements are 19x12 X15 and 85 lbs