Drug Testing for welfare

Over 18 ONLY! For grown-ups. . .

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Drug Testing for welfare

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Sat Aug 06, 2011 8:59 am

2 states have started to do this, Fl and KY and I know TN and MS have politicians who want to enact this.

I think drug testing in general is far too widely used. (I think that testing should only be done in safety critical jobs, pilots and bus drivers for instance.) And that testing folks on welfare is only going to drive up crime.
I have no ball in this game as I neither collect welfare or work for someone who drug tests.

What do you folks think about this issue?
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

Velokid1
IAC Addict!

Re: Drug Testing for welfare

Post by Velokid1 » Sat Aug 06, 2011 9:11 am

Until they drug test for alcohol, testing for ALL other drugs is hypocritical. There is no drug that causes as much damage to society as alcohol. Not even crystal meth, as horrific as that substance is. Alcohol is poisonous and highly addictive physically. If people can responsibly and moderately enjoy alcohol (and obviously many can) then they can also responsibly and moderately enjoy marijuana, cocaine, heroin, Oxycontin, you name it.

If those drugs cant be used responsibly, then neither can alcohol. In which case they shoyld test for alcohol anytime they test for illegal drugs. And anyone who drinks should be denied assistance as well.

I realize that the main queation is, sgould someone's use of drugs preclude their receiving help. I think that the biggeat qualifier for assistance should be NEED. And if someone has a drug problem it indicates a greater need than otherwise, not a diminished need.

ruckman101
Lord God King Bwana

Post by ruckman101 » Sat Aug 06, 2011 9:23 am